Three Exciting Updates!

A lot of really awesome things have happened recently, so it’s about time I updated about some of them.

  • A few months after earning my MFA in creative writing, I’ve also earned a graduate certificate from the University of Denver Publishing Institute. While I was there, I had the wonderful opportunity of meeting with several comics nerds, including the editor of Minimum Paige and representatives from Fantagraphics and Dark Horse. To say my little comics-loving heart was in heaven is a gross understatement.
    (If anyone has questions about DPI, I’d be more than happy to chat with you about the program. In short: it was one of the best months of my life.)
  • I’m now a writer at The Drunken Odyssey–each Wednesday, my column, Gutter Space, will be updated with a review or commentary on an indie or webcomic (no superhero comics). You can read the first installment here! If you have any suggestions for comics I should review, please send them my way!
  • In an earlier post about my panel presentation on Comics as Legitimate Literature at the AWP 2013 Boston Conference, I mentioned how our panel room was jam-packed and we had people sitting in the aisles. Let’s see if we can do that again! I’m thrilled to announce that I’ll be presenting at AWP 2014 Seattle, this time on “Building a Space For Comics in the Creative Writing Program”! I’ll probably be talking about my role as a student in an MFA program and how writing/drawing comics was received by my colleagues (and the administration), among other things.

In the next few weeks, I’ll also be starting my new big-girl job as a full-time professor of freshman composition. I’m super excited. Once I get into the swing of things, I’m hoping to get back to my weekly updates as I keep working through different comics textbooks and teaching myself how to become a sequential artist!

In the meantime, I’ve put together a handy list of literary magazines and journals that accept comics and graphic narrative submissions. If you notice anything missing from that list, please let me know so that I can keep that page updated! Please feel free to use and share this list, but please link back to me if you do. Thanks!

One thought on “Three Exciting Updates!

  1. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog
    and wanted to mention that I have really enjoyed browsing your
    blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing on your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

Tell me what you're thinking!

